Louisville, KY Car Accident Lawyer
Free Consultation & No Fee Guarantee
You don’t pay unless we win your Kentucky car accident case! Call now: (502) 584-9511
Mike Schafer is ‘The Lawyer Who Wrote The Book’ on car accidents in Louisville, KY. If you’ve been in a car accident, you may have some questions. Our injury attorneys have the answers!
- What To Do Right After a Car Accident in Louisville?
- Importance of Gathering Witness Information at the Scene of a Car Accident in Louisville
- When Should I Call a Louisville Car Accident Lawyer?
- Do I have a Car Accident Case in Louisville?
- What If My Loved One Was Killed in a Car Accident in Louisville?
- Handling Your Louisville Car Accident
- Who Will Fix My Car in Louisville?
- How Do I Get A Rental Car in Louisville?
- What to do if your Teen is in an Auto Accident in Louisville
- Glove Box Accident Guide
What to Do Right After a Car Accident in Louisville?
Below are the immediate actions you should take after getting into a car accident:
- First, call the police to report your car accident. They will come and collect information from all parties involved in the accident. Most car accident reports are available between seven to 10 days after the accident.
- You will also want to gather evidence and take pictures from your accident scene. Only do this if it’s safe to do so. Do NOT put your life at risk to gather evidence or take pictures of your accident. The minimum information you need to gather is the other driver’s (s) name, phone number, address, license plate number, insurance company, and make and model of their car. You will also want to take pictures of the damage to all vehicles involved, the accident scene, any injuries sustained from the car accident, and the people involved. This could help your case.
- You need to see a doctor in order to make sure you are not injured. Some injuries don’t appear until hours or even days after your accident. You should get medical attention so the insurance company will see you were checked out by a doctor after the accident.
Importance of Gathering Witness Information at the Scene of a Car Accident in Louisville
Some accidents have witnesses that saw what happened. If you can, try to get their contact information. This could be used in your case later.
When Should I Call a Louisville Car Accident Lawyer?
In Kentucky, you must file a written report with the state police within 10 days of the accident if the damage appears to exceed $500 or someone was injured or killed. If you have serious injuries or someone you love has died, you’ll want to call a Louisville car accident lawyer at The Schafer Law Office as soon as you can.
You should also call an attorney if:
- Your insurance company denies your claim
- The negligent driver tries to deflect blame or liability by accusing you of causing the accident
- You find the claims process confusing or overwhelming
- Your insurance company has made an insufficient offer
An experienced Louisville personal injury lawyer will protect your right to full and fair compensation.
How Long Do I Have To File An Automobile Accident Case?
In Kentucky, the statute of limitations for a car accident is two years from the date of the accident. It could also be two years from the date of the last no fault payment, not to exceed a total of four years. If you had insurance, the last no fault payment is the last payment your insurance company made for either your medical bills or your loss wages. It is best if you file your claim within two years from the date of the accident.
Do I Have a Car Accident Case in Louisville?
Potential clients often contact our office wondering if they have a car accident case.
The answer depends on whether you suffered damages. If you were able to walk away virtually unscathed, you probably wouldn’t be able to file a claim. However, if you sustained serious injuries or someone you love was killed, you have the right to pursue compensation. We will help you present a case that proves the significance of your injuries and demand the compensation you deserve.
What If My Loved One Was Killed in a Car Accident in Louisville?
When someone you love is killed in a Louisville car accident, you may be able to pursue a wrongful death claim against the negligent party.
Kentucky Statutes section 411.130 states that when someone dies from an injury resulting from another person entity’s negligence, their personal representative can pursue a claim against the party who caused it. If the accident resulted from gross negligence, you couldn’t also seek punitive damages.
When you’re trying to cope with the death of a loved one, wrongful death laws are going to appear complicated and confusing. A Louisville wrongful death lawyer at Schafer Law will guide you through the process so you can focus on being there for your family.
Handling Your Louisville Car Accident
If you’ve been injured in a car accident, you’ll need to find a reliable car accident lawyer in Louisville as soon as possible. Make sure any evidence that will help your case can still be gathered and not destroyed. A Louisville car accident attorney, like Mike Schafer, can help you understand your case and Kentucky law. You want an attorney who cares about you and you’ll find all that and much more in Mike Schafer, Bryan Meader, and The Schafer Law Office in Louisville, KY.
With car accident attorneys Mike Schafer and Bryan Meader on your side, you’ll be in good hands. The Schafer Law Office has been helping car accident injury victims get compensated for more than 25 years. Unlike big law firms that will have other people work on your case, Mike or Bryan is personally involved in every case.
The Schafer Law Office knows the challenges and pitfalls of vehicle injury cases in Kentucky, all the tactics of the “other” side, and how to best present the facts. They can handle the brutal tactics of the insurance companies. In fact, before Mike opened The Schafer Law Office, he worked for an insurance defense firm. He really knows all the tactics that the insurance companies have up their sleeves to wreck your car accident case.
Who Will Fix My Car?
One of the most stressful and frustrating parts of being in a car accident is getting your car repaired. You have to wait for the insurance company to come and appraise your car, then assess the damage done to it. You may not be able to drive your car or you may be embarrassed to drive a damaged car.
Car repair options
If you have collision insurance on your car, you have two options when it comes to repairs.
Option one – Usually the fastest way to get your car repaired is to go through your own insurance company. By doing this, you can begin the process immediately. Call your insurance company and get a claim set up as soon as you are able. By going through your insurance company, you will save time, but you will have to pay your deductible. Your insurance company will attempt to collect the deductible, as well as what they paid for the car repairs, back from the at-fault party’s insurance company.
Option two – Usually takes longer, but why does it take longer?
- First, you may not know who the at-fault insurance company is if you weren’t able to exchange information at the scene. You can find this information in the accident report, but it takes a few days for the report to be filed.
- Second, the other insurance company will want to take the statement of their insured before making payments for your car, or anything for that matter. This can take from days to weeks to even months. All this time you are without a car.
If you choose to go through the at-fault insurance company, the procedure will be the same, but the extra hoops that you have to jump through are headaches you don’t need. Also, if liability falls on you, the at-fault insurance company will not pay for your car. You are then back to dealing with your insurance company.
How Do I Get a Rental Car?
The insurance company for the driver that hit you should pay for your rental car. However, this can be a slow and frustrating process. Rental car coverage is always offered with full coverage on your personal car insurance policy. You cannot have this coverage if you only have liability coverage. This is the only way to make sure you will get a rental car while your car is being repaired.
The first step is to report the accident to the at-fault insurance company. If you did not get this information from the other driver at the accident scene, you can get it from the accident report. It could take up to 10 days for the report to become available but you can get the other driver’s insurance information. Then, you can start the process.
What to Do if Your Teen is in an Auto Accident
Has your child been involved in a car accident? Here are some tips on what a parent should do if their child was hurt in an accident in Kentucky.
Glove Box Accident Guide