Frequently Asked Questions

The Schafer Law office FAQ's

Below are some initial questions many clients have when they first contact Michael A. Schafer, Attorney at Law. The questions below may address many initial concerns you may have about your accident. If you don't find the answers here, you should contact us for answers to questions specific to your case. The consultation is free.

  • Page 6
  • Should I Take Pictures At The Scene Of The Accident?

    Pictures are helpful in the litigation of your car accident case. However, do not place yourself in danger to take photographs. If you have a camera available, it would be a good idea to take pictures of the accident scene and all vehicles involved at the time of the accident. You should definitely take pictures of the damages done to your car and the other vehicles involved.

  • Should I Talk To The Insurance Company?

    I urge people not to speak with any insurance adjuster until they have consulted with an attorney. However, it is important to cooperate with the insurance company. It is equally as important to have all the information at your disposal that the insurance adjuster has. Remember the insurance adjuster does this every day. They speak with people that have been in accidents as part of their job.

  • Who Will Pay To Fix My Car?

    The insurance company of the person who hit you will pay to have your vehicle fixed. If their insurance company challenges liability (whose fault the accident is), they may not pay for your car right away. If this is the case and you have collision coverage on your policy, you may want to turn to your own insurance company. If you do this, you will have to pay your deductible. Your insurance company then would attempt to collect the deductible back from the at-fault party's insurance company.

  • Who Will Pay For My Medication?

    Your insurance company will pay for your medication through your PIP coverage. You initially pay for any medication that you have and then we send the receipts to the insurance company for reimbursement.

  • What Can I Do In A Hit-And-Run If I Don't Know The Person?

    Yes, you can still receive benefits under your PIP or no fault coverage for medical treatment. Additionally, you may have uninsured motorist coverage (UIM) that would take care of your pain and suffering in this situation.

  • What Can I Do If I'm In A Car Accident And Have No Insurance?

    You still have a claim against the driver of the car that hit you. You can recover for your pain and suffering. In this situation, your medical bills will be paid by your health insurance carrier. If you do not have health insurance, you are responsible for the first $10,000 of medical bills. This amount will be paid out from the proceeds of your settlement.

  • Can I Get In Trouble If I Don’t Have Insurance On My Car?

    You may be charged with a criminal, no insurance offense if you do not have car insurance at the time of the accident. If this is your first offense, you can receive up to a $1,000 fine and 90 days in jail. However, most of the District Courts in Kentucky have a diversion program that will allow you to provide proof of insurance and eventually have the case dismissed.

  • How Long Do I Have To File An Automobile Accident Case?

    In Kentucky, the statute of limitations for a car accident is two years from the date of the accident. It could also be two years from the date of the last no fault payment, not to exceed a total of four years. If you had insurance, the last no fault payment is the last payment your insurance company made for either your medical bills or your loss wages. It is best if you file your claim within two years from the date of the accident.

  • How Long Do I Have To File A Motorcycle Accident Case?

    In Kentucky, the statute of limitations for a motorcycle accident is two years from the date of the accident. The case could also be filed two years from the date of the last no fault payment, not to exceed a total of four years. If you had insurance, the last no fault payment is the last payment your insurance company made for either your medical bills or your loss wages. To be safe, it is best to file within two years from the date of the accident.

  • How Long Do I Have To File A Truck Accident Case In Court?

    In Kentucky, the statute of limitations for a truck accident is two years from the date of the accident or two years from the date of the last no fault payment, not to exceed a total of four years. The last no fault payment is the last payment your insurance company (if you had insurance) made for either your medical bills or your loss wages. It is always safest to file within two years from the date of the accident.