Survey Reveals Worst Drivers in the U.S. | The Schafer Law Office

Survey Reveals Worst Drivers in the U.S.

Survey Reveals Worst Drivers in the U.S.

Florida drivers were ranked the worst drivers this year according to a survey conducted by SmartAsset, a financial tech firm. The survey results were based on collected data across four metrics particularly percentage insured, DUI per thousand drivers, deaths per thousand drivers, and Google trends on driving tickets. It was found out that Floridians google speeding tickets and traffic tickets more than any other state. Also, the state has the second lowest number of insured drivers in the nation.

The top 10 list of worst drivers is completed by Mississippi, Oklahoma, New Jersey, Delaware, Alabama, Vermont, Tennessee, Texas, and Nevada.

On the other hand, the 10 states with the best drivers are Maine, Idaho, Massachusetts, Utah, North Dakota, Nebraska, Connecticut, Pennsylvania, Oregon, and Hawaii.

Where did Kentucky rank?

Kentucky is ranked 24th on this list. Based on the study, 84.20 percent of Kentucky drivers are insured. The state has a score of 0.79 DUI arrests per thousand drivers. Meanwhile, its number of people killed per thousand drivers in vehicular incidents is 0.22 and the rate of googling parking and traffic tickets is 39.13.


  • From 2003 to 2012, 2,041 people were killed in crashes involving a drunk driver in Kentucky.
  • In 2015, traffic deaths reached 745, which was an increase of 73 from a year earlier.
  • One of four crashes involves cellphone use.
  • Number of highway deaths also increased. In 2015, there were 761 highway fatalities, which was an increase of 89 from 2014.

Mandatory Insurance in Kentucky

All registered vehicles in Kentucky must be insured. When not insured, the vehicle owner has to face corresponding penalties. To avoid these penalties, turn in your license plate to your County Clerk’s office.

Kentucky laws provide that an owner may not operate a vehicle in the state until insurance has been obtained. Failure to do this will lead to revocation of his vehicle registration. Moreover, the vehicle owner and driver are subject to a fine of $500 to $1000, up to 90 days in jail, or both.

If you own a motor vehicle, you are required to carry minimum liability coverage, which amounts to $25,000 for all claims for bodily injury damages sustained by any one person and not less than of $50,000 for all bodily injury damages sustained by all persons as a result of any one accident. In addition, it has to include $10,000 for all property damage as a result of any one accident.

For more information contact the personal injury lawyers at The Shafer Law Office today!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *