Two people were killed and one was injured in a car accident in Smiths Grove on Saturday, June 14, 2014. Andrew Hall and Lucas Turner were pronounced dead at the scene, while Dillon Hart was airlifted to the Skyline Medical Center. According to the Warren County Sheriff’s office, Hall, Turner and Hart were traveling down Scottsville Road when their vehicle ran off the road, hit several trees and overturned. Hart was reported to be in stable condition. According to police, it is uncertain if drugs or alcohol were involved in the crash.
Related: Should There Be Tougher DUI Laws in Kentucky?
- In 2012, there were 168 alcohol-impaired driving fatalities in Kentucky.
- Drivers age 21-25 have the highest rate of drunk driving.
- In terms of demographics, males are more likely than females to drive drunk.
- Drugs are also involved in about 18% of motor vehicle driver deaths. Unfortunately, drugs are often used together with alcohol.
- Over 1.2 million drivers in the U.S. were arrested in 2011 for driving under the influence of alcohol or narcotics.
In Kentucky, it is illegal to drive with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 or higher. KRS 189A.010 also states that a person shall not operate or be in physical control of a motor vehicle while under the influence of any other substance or combination of substances that impairs one’s driving ability. DUI penalties vary depending on the offense level. The higher the offense level, the more serious the penalty is. First DUI offense fines range between $200 and $500, while the fines for third offense, within a five year period, range between $500 and $1,000. Moreover, if one committed a DUI for a fourth time or subsequent offense within a five year period, it is considered a Class D felony and the penalty is one to five years in prison. Jail time gets even longer when there are aggravating circumstances including: transporting passengers under 12-years-old, wrong way on limited access highway, driving 30 mph over the speed limit, refusal to submit testing, alcohol level of .15 or more within two hours of operating and causing an accident resulting in death or serious physical injury.
Related: Using Social Media Is A Driving Hazard
If you have been involved in an accident where the at-fault driver was a drunk driver, make sure to contact the police right away. They will fill out an accident report and take pictures of the scene. You should then go see a doctor as soon as you can to make sure you are not injured. It is also recommended that you contact a DUI accident attorney. With their legal experience and skills, your attorney can handle your case and analyze your legal options.