Can I Get In Trouble If I Don’t Have Insurance On My Car?

You may be charged with a criminal, no insurance offense if you do not have car insurance at the time of the accident. If this is your first offense, you can receive up to a $1,000 fine and 90 days in jail. However, most of the District Courts in Kentucky have a diversion program that will allow you to provide proof of insurance and eventually have the case dismissed.

Michael Schafer
The Personal Injury Attorney for Louisville and Kentucky