Liability Coverage is one of the various automobile insurance coverages you can buy in Kentucky. This particular coverage is required for all drivers in Kentucky. It is the law. Liability Coverage is the part of the insurance policy that covers other people who are injured if you are the cause of an accident.
What does Liability Coverage cover?
Liability Coverage pays for the pain and suffering that the injured person goes through while recovering from their injuries. It also pays for their pain and suffering in the future if they have permanent injuries. Liability insurance could also pay for loss of income and uncovered medical bills, the out of pocket expenses.
What the minimum amount I can carry in Kentucky?
The minimum Liability Coverage you are required to carry on your car in Kentucky is $25,000/$50,000. This will pay a maximum of $25,000 per person for the pain and suffering described above and $50,000 per accident, if there is more than one person injured (not including yourself). If there are several people injured in a car accident, which was caused by you, the $50,000 is all the insurance company would have to pay if you are carrying the minimum coverage.
Does Liability Coverage cover me?
Liability Coverage does not cover you personally if you are injured in a car accident. You will not personally receive any money from this coverage. You would need to look at other areas of your insurance policy for coverage. This is provided that the accident was not your fault.
Guidelines to determine premiums
When purchasing car insurance, you may want to evaluate your assets and determine if you want to raise the limits of your Liability Coverage. Different companies have different guidelines on determining the premium for this coverage. Some of the limits I have seen are:
By doubling your insurance coverage, your premium will not double. You may be surprised at how little it will cost you. Ask your insurance agent about raising your liability coverage limits.
Another option is to carry a single limit. The lowest amount you can purchase is the total of all minimum Liability Coverage. This is the $50,000 per accident and $10,000 for property damage. That makes the lowest amount $60,000. By carrying a single limit, the coverage can be paid out for the whole accident without being categorized.